WHEN LIFE GIVES YOU LEMONS…

Now you can have the best intentions in this WOL.  Eating right and exercising.  But what happens when something keeps happening and pulling you off your path on this journey?

This past week I stubbed my toe resulting in the loss of my nail.  I jammed my finger into a chair leaving me unable to use my right hand.  I got bit by something that resulted in my foot having a rash at the bite site and swollen foot, it  hurt to wiggle my toes and it was so tender to walk on my foot.  I was walking outside I saw a puddle and thought, “I need to watch the puddle so I don’t get wet.”  as soon as I thought that, I had lost my balance and fell right into the puddle.  My clothes, shoes, purse, hair was full of mud.  My elbow and knee were scrapped up and bleeding.  I was making my coffee when I couldnt lift my foot, up the step that led into the kitchen and I dropped my glass carafe  shattering it all over the floor, luckily i only cut my foot once on a missed shard of glass. To end my week on a high note.  I sliced my thumb, so deeply and badly that I almost cut the tip off.  Here I was cutting asparagus when my hand decided to have a jerking tremor.  *SLICE*

So due to my ummm..unfortunate accidents.  I was unable to go to the pool for my exercise.  I  think that hurt more than any of the injuries.

It would have been easy to say, “I think these are signs telling me not to work out.”  But then where would I be?

God allows us to experience a journey, actually many different journeys, but each journey has a hurdle or two or more.  As I see it, a hurdle is placed there by the devil, but under God’s guidance.  God knows the hurdle is placed there and its like a competition between God and the Devil.  God has faith that you will overcome the hurdle, the devil hopes you don’t and that you give up.   So how you handle the hurdle is up to you, God wills it to happen but the decision of how you overcome it is all YOU.  God doesn’t set out to make you feel like a failure,  that is all the devil’s work.

It would have been easy to just be mad at the world and not do anything, at all or anymore.

When I was able to put weight on my foot I began to just walk.  I got my walker and slowly I walked down the driveway and as far as I could go down the street, taking breaks when I needed to.

My thumb, thankfully, is alsmost healed to the point of being able to be sealed by putting some New Skin, the liquid bandage, over the wound so that I can get back into the pool.

I continued my healthy eating, I adjusted my exercise routine and I still lost some weight this week.

Be a wine to others’ lemonade, let them look at you in bewilderment .  Let them sit and wonder how you had so many hurdles, but yet they never stopped you on your journey.  Most people expecct you to fail, but the only person you need to believe that you will succeed is YOU!

When a road has one of those big wooden “ROAD CLOSED” sign, what do you do?  Do you just sit there, stopped in your tracks; just staring at the blocakade?  No! You find a way to get around it so you get to your final destination, your goal.

 

 

Leave a Reply

