RECIPE ROUNDUP

Ok yes I know its a few days late, but please forgive me and be patient.  I know I am a little of the ball on my Blogging, so please give me some patience.   My doctors put me on a new med, which when I was trying to type I was basically sitting at the keyboard drooling.  I had to wait for my body to adjust to the medication.  I wish the zombie like state was the only side efect, SMH.  The medication cause me to gain 10 pounds, but now I think since my body has adjusted the weight will cease to gain, at least the scale is going down.  *Fingers crossed* It continues to go down.  All the medication my doctors have me on, well all the side effects are weight gain.  So I am not only battling my weight I need to battle the extra medication weight.

Any hoot on with the recipe.  LOL..after all its why you are reading this particular blog.

As you may or may not know, I posted a blog last month about it.  I won a recipe contest with Atkins.  So I am going to share my recipe.  This is a nice breakfast alternative, but i was eating it at all hours.

Zucchini Latkes.

7 oz. Zuchinni, washed and grated

2 tsp Parmesan Cheese

1 egg, Large

1/4 tsp Garlic Powder

1/4 tsp Onion Powder

1 TB Flaxseed Meal

2 TB Canola Oil

 

MIx all ingredients except the canola oil.  Combine until well combined.

In a skillet heat the canola oil over a medium-low heat until oil is hot.  Drop zucchini mixture by the spoonfuls, flatten the mounds into a patty.  Cook for 3-5 minutes, or until browned to your likeness, then flip and cook patties on the other side for the same amount of time.  Cooking at a higher temp tends to burn the oil off quicker and you need the oil to cook the Latkes.

When pattties are fully cooked, place on a towel lined plate to draine off excess grease and finish cooking rest of zucchini mixture the same way.

This recipe is filling and makes two servings.  You can make this or 2 people, put leftovers in a fridge or you can eat both servings yourself.

These can be eaten as is or even put some butter on them.

 

Leave a Reply

