I CAN’T GO! WHAT CAN I DO ABOUT CONSTIPATION?

When a person follows a low carb diet they notice a change in their bowel movements. Also as women, also keep this in mind; It is this hormone progesterone that can affect your digestive system by delaying the transit time of food through the intestines and hence may lead to constipation before your period. Usually though, you should find that the period-related constipation eases with the start of menstruation.

What can you do to help you ‘go’s?

Increase your fiber intake- flaxseed and chia seeds are loaded with fiber or use a fiber supplement such as Metamucil or Benefiber(I use the Meijer store brand benefiber as it is also gluten free).

Add more fiber rich vegetables into your diet.

Increase your water intake.

Exercise, exercise, exercise!!  Taking a walk helps things to get moving.

Increasing your magnesium can help movements as well.

Increase your fat intake could also help as you may be ingesting too little of fats. Concentrate on increasing healthy fats, omega-3, such as salmon, olive oil, nuts, seeds and avocados.

Remove caffeine from your diet as caffeine works as a diuretic, leaving you dehydrated.

Don’t over-eat! Too much protein (and food in general) in the body means your liver and kidneys have to use lots of water, which will dehydrate you.

The following spices and herbs are reputed to be natural laxatives: cayenne pepper, turmeric, ginger and garlic.

I don’t have constipation problems much anymore, but at the beginning I did and basically that was when I consumed sugar free candies.  I told my doctor, I was constipated I eat the sugar free candy and it makes me go.  LOL.  But I don’t recommend doing that.  I now am more an active flaxseed consumer and I have Meijer benefiber to add to my food as well.

If none of the above tricks work, then make an appointment with your doctor.

Has anyone else found a solution to keep them regular?

Leave a Reply

