I CAN’T DO IT!

Along my journey I became disabled.  My days were filled will pain, anguish, frustration.  I kept saying I couldn’t do this or I couldn’t do that. I couldn’t do things because of this disability. I can’t be the belly dancer I once was. I slumped my body in my bed, it was my comfort.

I cried at remembering the things I used to do and thinking that I would never be able to do them ever again. I had an active lifestyle and was now forced to a sedentary one.

Then one day I snapped, I was tired of the pity party I was throwing for myself.   I still have some movements I can do, I just need to put them to use and slowly others will become available.  I may not be a belly dancer like I was before my disability, but I could be a different dancer incorporating the movements I can do with my limitations.

It is always easier to just say I CAN’T.  It’s easy to give up.  It’s easier to succumb to your fears, then to prove your fears may be right.

However, living is not about what you can’t do, life is about what you can do.

It’s easy to say I CAN’T and give up, but it feels better to prove that I CAN.

Don’t look at what you can not do, prove to yourself that there is something that you can do.

When have you turned an I CAN’T moment into an I CAN triumph?

Leave a Reply

