SERIOUSLY??? A WEIGHT LOSS SITE PROMOTES THIS IDEOLOGY?

So I belong to Sparkpeople.com, it is a website I use for free to record my food and water intake as well as any exercise.

I was shocked today when I was recording my meals and at the bottom of my daily totals was printed this, from the site people themselves:

“You’ve burned 304 calories today. The more you burn, the more you can eat!”

I understand if you burn more than you intake you lose weight, however, I don’t think that they should be pushing the notion if you workout more than you can eat more.  I don’t want to reward myself from working out more with food.  Rewarding myself with food is why I am where I am today, well more so 4 years ago. I am where I am today due to hard work and perserverance.

I am shocked that a site promoting themselves on weight loss actually felt it was OK to post that.  It’s like saying well you can have that chocolate cake if you work out another half hour on a treadmill.  No I will work out another half hour and be excited that I could.

Food should not be a motivation or reward for doing what you should be doing regardless.

I have been a member of Sparkpeople for my journey and today I am just shattered.  That is such a bad ideology to teach to impressionable people that it’s OK to reward workouts with food or using food as a motivator to work out.

How do you guys feel about that?

3 thoughts on “SERIOUSLY??? A WEIGHT LOSS SITE PROMOTES THIS IDEOLOGY?

Leave a Reply

