AS-SALAAM-ALAIKUM

When a person says this to you what is your response?

Is it an instant response?

Do you look at the person first then decide or not if you will say anything back?

If a woman says it to you, do you respond back only if the person saying it is wearing a hijab?

Do you ever act if you never heard anything in the first place?

If someone of the opposite sex greeted you, would you respond?

When someone says as-salaam-alaikum to you is There a personal preferrence for you before you respond with “Wa-Alaikum-Salaam”?

I am most curious about this as I have been having the same reactions since I have become a Muslim, almost 4 years ago.  I am of a Caucasian decent, I am very pale unless I get burnt, there is no tan about me.  I have brownish blonde External thick, coarse and curly hair.

When I go out and I see a fellow sister or brother, I say As-salaam-alaikum.  I am excited when I say it, however, I have only had about 2% of the people I say it to even reply, 70% just stare at me and not respond, 20% do a quick look over and do not respond, and 8% just pretend like nothing was ever said, they keep their head down and walk away.

If I said as-salaam-alaikum to you and you saw how I did not fit the certain serotype of what a Muslim looks like would you reply to me?  If I said hi, would that make you more incline to reply?

One time, I saw an elderly Muslim man whom I greeted with as-salaam-alaikum, and it began an awesome conversation. Though the conversation lasted only a few minutes it made me feel connected, accepted and welcomed as his sister in Islam.

On the opposite plane, just as everytime I reach out and greet others, when they don’t reply I do feel rejected and judged.

2 thoughts on “AS-SALAAM-ALAIKUM

  1. Subhannallah, this is sadly true often times!
    People really need a lesson on this ayah of the quran – “And when you are greeted with a greeting, greet with a better greeting or (at least) return it (in a like manner).” (4:86)

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Unfortunately a lot of people don’t reply, I always think of this… but then what if they’re replying in their head? You never know. Although if someone of the opposite gender said it to me I usually look away and reply in my head, try not to pay attention to them, unless of course they are asking me something or I know them

    Like

Leave a Reply

