JALAPENO PEPPERS AND WEIGHT LOSS!

So today I was telling my friend how I was making some jalapeno cheese crackers.  She said how she did not like spicy, I said but spicy helps you lose weight.

She doubted me, so I googled and found information for her and I learned more than I knew so I wanted to share that information with all of you.

Prolonged exposure to cold temperatures and regular consumption of spicy foods may both help you burn more fat, according to a recent study published in the journal Current Opinion in Clinical Nutrition & Metabolic Care.

Researchers have known for a while now that, while white fat leads to weight gain, brown fat actually helps your body burn more calories and promotes weight loss. What they didn’t know? How exactly to increase the amount of brown fat in people who don’t already have a ton of it. Since previous animal studies have suggested that cold temps might do the trick, researchers exposed a group of people with low or nonexistent levels of brown fat to 17° Celsius (that’s about 63° Fahrenheit) for two hours a day for a total of six weeks. It worked: At the end of the six weeks, they had more brown fat and were burning more calories. What’s more, their body fat mass had also decreased by the end of the study.

Of course, it’s not realistic for everyone who wants to lose weight to spend two hours a day in the cold—so researchers wanted to see if they could mimic this effect in another way. They took another group of people with low or no brown fat and had them consume capsinoids, which are naturally present in chili peppers, daily for six weeks. While a placebo group didn’t see any major changes, the experimental group had significantly higher calorie burn and lower body fat at the end of the study.

How cool is this???  Now I am a fan of spicy food already andiI live in Michigan where the winters, the fall and spring, lol, even this summer have been pretty cold. So maybe this is my fat burning year?

Maybe this can be an experiment for you to try.  Eat some spicy foods to your normal eating and exercise routine then measure the difference,  if you don’t like spicy, well, you can always turn down the thermostat—particularly when you’re sleeping.

But makes me wonder what would be the results if I did both??????  And what if I am in the cold longer than two hours???

Now I am not sure how many jalapeno peppers were consumed in a day, I will probably do more research to find that answer.

But I see this being a dinner experiment.

One thought on “JALAPENO PEPPERS AND WEIGHT LOSS!

  1. Jalapeno, habanero, cayenne and other forms of spicy peppers directly boost metabolism and circulation. In fact, eating hot peppers not only speeds up your metabolism, it also reduces cravings. This is related to its capsaicin content, a compound that stimulates the body’s pain receptors, temporarily increasing blood circulation and metabolic rate. If you have ever experienced a bout of intense sweating after eating a particularly hot tamale, this shouldn’t come as a surprise. In fact, studies have shown that eating hot peppers can boost the metabolism by up to 25%, with the spike lasting for up to 3 hours.

    So I guess I should be adding hot peppers to all my meals and snacks

    Like

Leave a Reply

