HOW WAS YOU FIRST DAY OF RAMADAN?

Well I slept well past Suhoor, well past it like hours past.

So I get up and just brush my teeth.

I sit trying to keep myself occupied.  Can’t watch TV, oh all those food commercials.  *Drool*

Cant read magazines or newspapers as I see all the restaurant ads.  *Drool*

My friend call, “Hey girl how you doing, what did you eat today?”

“Nothing, I slept through Suhoor.”

Shaking off what I said, she replies, “You wanna go out and get a bite to eat?”

“I can’t, its’s Ramadan, I am fasting.  I cannot eat until Iftar.”

“Oh, when is that?”

“8:30”

“PM? Isn’t that kind late to be eating dinner? Come on come out and have some food with me. What will it hurt?”

At this point I am just shaking my head.

“You can make up the day, like I do with Lent if I make an oopsie.”(LOL, yep she said oopsie.)

“No I am fasting, I can not and will not.”

“So is that a no, to going out for food?”

“Can you wait till 8:30 PM?”

“Are you crazy, I can’t wait that long to eat, I will be withered away by then.”

“Yes, then that is a NO from me.”

Why is it so hard for non-Muslims to understand Ramadan.  It is not voluntary, it is a mandatory for all Muslims.

Its not like Lent, where you give up only one item for thirty days.

If a day is to be made up it is because I was ill, not because I wanted to break fast to eat with a friend.

Allah sees my actions and knows what is in my heart.  I will face him on judgement day and if I break fast for a selfish reason, I will pay for it threefold.

Leave a Reply

