DANGERS OF SUGAR FREE

You crave chocolate, so you decide to try some sugar free chocolate.  You subtract the fiber and sugar alcohol so you celebrate as you can fit this into your day.

Woo-Hoo quickly turns to Oh-No.  The problem with sugar free candy is that it is made with sugar free sweetners.  Sugar free sweetners have a laxative effect and a nasty gassy side effect.

I learned this the hard way.  I had gone out shopping, running errands and was starving worse than Marvin, so I decided to get some Russell Stover sugar free peanut butter cups.  I enjoyed my portion. When I got home, I put away the groceries.  Noticing it was time for Zuhr, I performed wudu, as I was washing my face I heard a strange grumbling coming from my belly. Odd I thought, I just must be hungry, so I continued with my cleansing.  As I walked into my room for my prayer mat, my tummy began to cramp. I continued to roll out my mat.  As I bent over reciting Allah Hu Akabar, is when it started, the laxative effects of the candy.  I ran to the restroom after I was done I performed wudu once again, went back to my room only to hear the commotion of the candy coming from behind and a felt it rushing fast.  Again bathroom, then wudu.  This continued for the next hour until I was successfully able to finish the prayer.  Luckily, I was praying at home and was not at the Mosque.  I would have been more mortified.

So my lesson to teach, Beware of sugar free, not just candy but syrups, pops, etc.  They can cause gastrointestinal distress and embarrassing moments you may not want to share with others.

Now I am not going to ask anyone to share their embarrassing stories about their experience with sugar free, (but if you care to share you can).   The lessons we learn are used to teach others.

Leave a Reply

