TIS THE SEASON OF THE DREADED SINUS AND OTHER ILLNESSES CAUSED BY WEATHER CHANGE.

So today, here I am sneezing, blowing my nose, eyes and ears itching, throat raw, upset tummy and I feel like I got hit by a Mack truck.

Now I write this as I know some people when they are feeling under the weather, they forgo their way of eating.  I know most doctors when you are sick will say: drink juice, crackers, soup, have popsicles.

I am not going to say, “Oh, don’t listen to your doctor.”  I know I listen to my doctor, but I make low carb substitutions.  Soup can easily be replaced by broth or bouillon, even add an egg to make some egg drop soup.  Crackers can be low carb homemade crackers, such as flaxseed.  I drink water instead of juice. Popsicles, well you can get sugar free ones, however, I like to freeze grapes.  When they are frozen and I eat them, it instantly helps soothe my throat (10 seedless grapes are 9.05g carbs; 0.40g fiber; net carbs is 8.65g). Making a slushy using sugar free beverage and ice also helps the sore throat as does a nice hot cup of tea.

Of course, as with any cold you are suppose to eliminate dairy.  Consuming dairy when you are sick creates more mucus.   The hardest part of being sick for me is no dairy, I love cheese.

However, thank Allah for almond milk.  I am still able to make my protein smoothies, so those also help with sore throat while getting my protein intake in.

If I derailed off my way of eating road, then I would have to go through the carb flu when I restarted my way of eating.  So, either way, I would still have to go through the side effects of being sick.

Oh and if you are sitting there thinking, what about your vegetables and fats.  Smoothies..like my recipe of Mary Jo’s Minty Shake,  use can make smoothies with almond milk and protein powder, add some veggies like spinach or kale and fats like avocado or peanut butter or coconut oil.

Just remember, being sick is just a hurdle, not a reason to stop your progress on eating, you should step back on exercise until you feel better, only because having a fever and working out don’t mix too well. Not well at ALL!!

One thought on “TIS THE SEASON OF THE DREADED SINUS AND OTHER ILLNESSES CAUSED BY WEATHER CHANGE.

Leave a Reply

